Home Latest Onafeko emerges as Lagos Assembly’s Acting Clerk

Onafeko emerges as Lagos Assembly’s Acting Clerk


The Lagos State House of Assembly has appointed Barrister Olalekan Onafeko as the Acting Clerk of the House.

Prior to his appointment, Onafeko was the Head of Administration/Human Resources Directorate of Lagos House of Assembly.

His appointment was announced on Monday, September 28, 2020, by the Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon. Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni.

According to the Deputy Speaker, “It is the responsibility of the Selection Committee of the House to appoint a new Clerk.

See Also: Nigeria may break apart – Boss Mustapha

“We have met many qualified staff and we considered so many qualities such as competence, desirability and others and so we appointed Mr. Olalekan Onafeko,” he said.

The immediate past Clerk of the House, Mr. Azeez Sanni retired from the Service on September 10, 2020, after serving meritoriously for 35 years.

Since then, the Deputy Clerk, Mr. Taiwo Otun, had been acting as the Clerk during plenary.

Onafeko has a degree in Business Administration from Ogun State University, Ago Iwoye, Ogun State, and LL. B Laws from Lagos State University, Ojo, and Nigerian Law School.

He joined Lagos State Civil Service in 2000 as Administrative/ Human Resources Officer 2, on Grade level 08, and was posted to the Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

He was deployed to the Lagos House of Assembly in 2005 as Administrative Officer/ Human Resources Officer 1, on Grade level 9.

See Also: LASG Set to Extend Ferry Operations to Badagry, Epe

He has won several awards such as Annual Best Officer Award, Best Officer Award, Senior Category at the Year 2014 Public Service Week. He had been nominated twice for National Merit Award.

Mr. Olalekan Biliaminu Onafeko will be the third Head of Administrative / Human Resources Directorate that will be appointed Acting Clerk and later substantive Clerk in the history of Lagos House of Assembly.

The first was Mr. Ganiyu Olusegun Abiru in August 2011 when the then Clerk, Mr. Taiwo Olatunji retired.

The immediate past Clerk, Mr. Azeez Sanni was the Director of Finance and Administration in 2016 when he was appointed Acting Clerk after the retirement of Mr Ganiyu Olusegun Abiru.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here